They say his name’s “Lucky”

6 05 2015

I’m an regular occasional visitor to unfamiliar football grounds. Here’s what happens after I visit them.

In September 1998 I went to watch CD Tenerife 2 Real Sociedad 2 whilst on holiday. In May 1999 CD Tenerife were relegated.

In September 2000 I went to watch AS Saint Etienne 1 Lille OSC 1 whilst on holiday. In May 2000 AS Saint Etienne were relegated.

In February 2002 I had a look around FC Saint Pauli’s ground whilst at a conference. In May 2002 FC Saint Pauli were relegated.

In August 2008 I went to watch Charlton Athletic 0 Yeovil Town 1 in the League Cup whilst on holiday. Not only were Yeovil a division below Charlton at the time Charlton were relegated at the end of the season.

In August 2009 I went to watch Aston Villa 2 Rapid Vienna 1, Villa lost on away goals.

In November 2009 I went to watch the abandoned Chester City v Eastborne Borough match whilst Christmas shopping, In March 2010 Chester City were wound up.

In August 2010 I went to watch Aston Villa 2 Rapid Vienna 3, Villa lost 4-3 on aggregate.

In August 2011 I had a ticket to West Ham v Aldershot Town in the League Cup. The match was called off due to the “London Riots”. In the rearranged match West Ham lost 2-1. Aldershot were two divisions below Aldershot at the time.

In August 2012 I went to watch Millwall lose to Crawley on penalties in the League Cup. Crawley were a league below Millwall at the time.

This season I went to watch…..

Blackpool 1 Norwich City 3 in September. Blackpool were relegated at the end of the season.

Wigan Athletic 1 Rotherham 2 in December. Wigan were relegated at the end of the season.

Tranmere Rovers 2 Northampton 1 in December. Tranmere were relegated at the end of the season.

The last ten minutes of York City 1 Cheltenham Town 0 in April. Cheltenham were relegated at the end of the season.

I wonder, who should I relegate next season?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

