Who are you calling “mate” lad?

8 03 2015

Yesterday I witnessed a teenager dismissively utter “A return to Llandudno please mate.” in the general direction of the train guard. A few seconds later I re-imagined a classic Derek & Clive sketch;

Dirk: I’ll tell you, the other day some hipster came up to me and …..

Carwyn: Who, Les Dennis?

D: No, no, I don’t know who it was, and he said, “Excuse me Mate!!”.

C: Yeah.

D: I said, “What?” He said, “Excuse me Mate!!”.

C: Yeah. And you replied, “DON’T “MATE” ME LAD”.

D: I said-, I-, no, well, not straight away, I said, “Pardon dickhead”.

C: Yeah, yeah, yeah, …..

D: And then he said …..

C: ….. what’d he come back with?

D: He come back. He says, “Excuse me Mate”. I said, “You talking to me dickhead?.. “

C: You’re joking! He said, “Excuse me mate”?

D: He-, yeah, he said, “Excuse    Me     Mate!!!-?” I said, “You f-“, I said, “You flipping tugboat”.

C:I should hope so, “you tugboat”.

D:I s-, I said, “You tugboat”, I said, “You bloody come here and call me mate”.

C: I should say so.

D: I said, “You f-“, I said, “You tugboat”. I said, “You flipping tugboat”. I said, “Who you flipping calling ‘mate’, lad?”

C: Yeah, what did he say, “mate”?

D: He said, “Look I’m sorry mate……….Why you getting angry mate? I only said “Excuse me” mate. Do us all a favour mate, get on the banter bus!!”

C: Well who are you to say to him that he was a flipping tugboat?

D: Well, what d’you fu-, what d’you flipping think, mate, I was flipping defending my flipping self, weren’t I?

C: Well, no, he came up to you, called you “mate”, …..

D: Yeah!

C: ….. that’s fair enough, what he said, “Excuse me Mate!”, and you said back to him, “you flipping tugboat”.

D: I sa-, well, …..

C: Well, what do you expect him to say back apart from, “Look, I’m really sorry Mate. I didn’t mean to push in to the self-service queue Mate.”

D: Well, I don’t-, I don’t expect nothing, do I?

C: No.

D: But the f-, the flipping tugboat come back with, “Look I’m sorry mate”, tugboat.

C: Well, Christ, …..

D: I said, “You’re sorry “mate”?” I said, “You calling me “mate” …..

C: Yeah.

D: ….. You flipping tugboat-“, I said, “You flipping tugboat”.

C: Jesus Christ, yeah.

D: I said, “You-“, I said, “You, can shove your apology you flipping tugboat”.

C: Yeah, what-

D: I said, like that.

C: You said it like that, did you, …..

D: Yeah.

C: ….. to him, …..

D: Yeah.

C: ….. or was he gone by then?

D: No, he flipping looked at me with disdain. Fli-

C: Looked at you with disdain, did he?

D: Yeah,flipping tugboat.

C: Killed you dead with his eyes, did he?

D: Nah, he-, he just looked at me with disdain. I said, I said, …..

People I don’t mind calling me mate; My friends, other people I know, people that live north of Stafford.

People I’d ban from calling me mate; People I don’t know, the shop workers of north Wales and Chester that I don’t already know, The bar staff of Llandudno that I don’t already know, people half my age, the privately educated, hipsters, university students, people speaking on TV programmes, radio phone in hosts, the users of the banter, David Cameron.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

