Erstwhile heroes and the “Indepedence Debate”

20 08 2014

When I was younger Ian Rush the Flint goal machine was a bronze statue of a hero. Deadly accurate, fancy Nike boots and moustache, he had it all, he was the full package. Back then it was easier to have heroes, the banter on social media was but a pipe dream of a yet to be formed diseased mind.

They say you should never meet your heroes but I still engineered a crossing of our paths. It was seven years ago and a hot Sunday of deepest summer. I was a volunteer at a football tournament and Rushy was due to make a public appearance with the Charity Shield.

My heart sank as soon as I saw his McDonald’s polo shirt and not even the shiny presence of the Charity Shield could mend my broken heart. After a couple of hours I thought about sidling up to him for an autograph but a scowl transmits a thousand words so I decided against briefly infecting his personal space. Being a perceptive kind of chap I could tell that he didn’t have any spare time to return my leveraged teenage fawning.

The aphorism that warns you about meeting your heroes doesn’t go far enough, you shouldn’t pay too much attention to their words or actions either. Last week Cian from the Super Furry Animals tweeted that Rushy had put his name to a letter – Be warned this link takes you to a Daily Mail article – that encouraged the people of Scotland to think twice about voting for independence.

Rushy is right up there with lovely luminaries such as……….Kirstie Allsop, Gyles Brandreth, Will Carling, Bruce Forsyth, Dr. Fox, Rod Liddle, Sir Cliff Richard and Sting. The list is also full of people whose names I was really disappointed to see. It’s always disappointing when my projections are off beam.

It’s rather puzzling to see Rush claiming affinity with the idea of a united kingdom when he earned Europe-wide fame as a proud player for a nation that wouldn’t exist if the United Kingdon had a national football team. How did he score so many goals with clay feet?

I can’t understand why the objectors care so much about Scottish independence, it hasn’t really got anything to do with them. Scotland’s decision will be Scotland’s democratic decision. I struggle to see why the issue matters to them. Would they remain a member of a club that they’d stopped enjoying simply because irritating television presenters and Robbie Williams ex-lyricist told them that they sort of minded they were considering leaving the club? The letter is little more than condescending little Englandism.

Now that I’ve criticized the objectors for having an opinion on this matter, here’s my ten pennorth. As far as I see it the independence vote it’s a wonderful opportunity for a group of people to do two things; 1) Throw off the shackles of the medieval system of monarchy. 2) Put distance between themselves and the Etonian mafia, as Limmy’s tweet shows.

Lastly, anything that annoys Rangers Ultras can’t be bad.

Aug 9 050
Actions

Information




