A short break from seedy Blatterworld

8 08 2014

All it took for the world weariness to briefly vanish was a glimpse of some European trophies.

Aug 6 002

Trophies

Aug 6 013

Even though seedy Blatterworld – semi-pro financial doping, ubiquitous corporate language, “History has shown so far that boycotting sport events or a policy of isolation or confrontation are not the most effective ways to solve problems” – regularly lances my sense of contentment I retain a sense of romance in my heart.

I gazed at the trophies and promptly left seedy Blatterworld.

I saw a pitchful of Celtic fans in Lisbon and Phil Thompson leaving the trophy in his local in 1977, I saw van Basten, Rijkaard and Kluivert, I saw Waddle’s volley against Milan and George Best dribbling around the Benfica defence. I saw the glamour of grainy footage with a flashing R in the corner of the screen.

Not even the security guard auditioning for a Spinal Tap tribute band – “Don’t even breath on them!!” – could rain on my trip away from seedy Blatterworld.

Up yours Blatter!!

Actions

Information

One response

9 08 2014
Welsh not British (@welshnotbritish)

I know it probably doesn’t need stating but those are not the real trophies. The real UEFA cup has the flags of all the UEFA member associations on it including the flags of the four oldest national associations.

The fake UEFA cup in the picture above does not have these on it. It does however have the Union Rag.

Leave a Reply

