Look at where we could have gone!!!!

23 05 2013

Bangor City are not going to be playing European matches next season. I’ll just repeat that; Bangor City are not going to be playing European matches next season.

I don’t need to remind myself of this thought, or repeat it,  as it lives in the place where my joy used to, at quieter times the thought echoes around my empty head. Sometimes it has a thought about wasted chances for company, at other times I’m eating.

I often like to torment myself and, luckily for me, this situation offered a perfect opportunity for torment. I wondered about the possibilities that would have presented themselves if Bangor City were going to be playing European matches next season. Here what I found.

If Bangor were unseeded (Based on their co-efficient of 3.500) they could draw these clubs.

  • Norway Rosenborg
  • Slovakia Žilina
  • Latvia Ventspils
  • Norway Tromsø
  • Kazakhstan Aktobe
  • Belarus Dinamo Minsk
  • Republic of Ireland St Patrick’s Athletic
  • Azerbaijan Qarabağ
  • Sweden Malmö FF
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina Sarajevo
  • Iceland KR
  • Finland Inter Turku
  • Moldova Dacia Chişinău
  • Estonia Levadia Tallinn
  • Northern Ireland Linfield
  • Malta Valletta
  • Slovenia Olimpija Ljubljana
  • Latvia Liepājas Metalurgs
  • Sweden Gefle
  • Armenia Pyunik
  •  Third-placed team of 2012–13 Liga I (Between Pandurii Târgu Jiu, Astra Giurgiu and Petrolul Ploiești)
  •  Third-placed team of 2012–13 Serbian Super League (Between Red Star and Vojvodina)
  •  Runners-up of 2012–13 Bulgarian A League (Between Ludogorets Razgrad, CSKA Sofia and Botev Plovdiv)
  •  Third-placed team of 2012–13 Bulgarian A League (Between Ludogorets Razgrad and  CSKA Sofia)
  •  Runners-up of 2012–13 Hungarian First League (Between Videoton, MTK, Honvéd, Debrecen and Ferencváros)
  •  Third-placed team of 2012–13 Hungarian First League (Between Videoton, MTK, Honvéd, Debrecen and Ferencváros)
  •  Third-placed team of 2012–13 Premier League of Bosnia and Herzegovina (Between Olimpic, Borac Banja Luka and Čelik)
  •  Third-placed team of 2012–13 Slovenian First League (Between Koper and Domžale)
  •  Winners of 2012–13 Macedonian Cup (Between Shkëndija and Teteks)
  •  Runners-up of 2012–13 Macedonian First League (Between Vardar, Turnovo and Metalurg)
  •  Third-placed team of 2012–13 Macedonian First League (Between Vardar, Turnovo and Metalurg)
  •  Winners of 2012–13 Montenegrin Cup  (Between Budućnost Podgorica and Čelik Nikšić)
  •  Runners-up of 2012–13 Montenegrin First League  (Between Budućnost Podgorica and Čelik Nikšić)
  •  Third-placed team of 2012–13 Montenegrin First League  (Between Čelik Nikšić , Grbalj and Rudar)

If Bangor City were seeded they could draw these clubs;

When you do this for 5 years you start to feel as though you only see certain names, the Inter Turkus, the Pyuniks and the Ventspils’eses. This doesn’t mean that aren’t some tempting destinations on the lists.

If money and time off weren’t an issue then the Kazakh, Armenian or Azeri options would look very interesting.

If Bangor were unseeded I’d have loved to draw Malmo, I like the 20 mile bridge and light blue shirts, or St. Pat’s, I’d love to see hundreds on a Bangor City European away trip, or Bosnia, or Slovenia, for years Slovenia was a border between east and west and it’s near the crossroads of central Europe and I’ve always wanted to go to Bosnia. MTK and Honved have their own charms. After reading  this blog I’m not sure I’d like to draw Dinamo Minsk.

If Bangor were seeded I’d have loved any of the clubs from the smaller countries but I’d especially like to go to the Faroes or Luxembourg. Based on this post by my journalist friend Egan I’d have loved it if Bangor had drawn IFK Mariehamn. I love a charming anomaly and a groups of Swedish speaking islands that’s part of Finland is definitely a charming anomaly.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

