Look lad, be stoic, or be quiet.

7 05 2013

I’ve been a football fan for so long I understand how football fans think……

“I’ve taken an interest in this match so I demand my team wins. If we’re not going to win, I’m going to moan. I’m entitled to victories!!!!

Yeah I can moan if I want to, in fact I’m entitled to moan.  I’ve paid to get there, I’ve paid to get in. I’m entitled to moan as moaning is part of my human rights.

When things don’t go as I planned I’m entitled to moan because I’m not allowed to feel the pain of defeat.  I’m special and nothing’s allowed to offend me.

I don’t want to see people make mistakes. I paid for my ticket and I paid to get in, I didn’t pay to see people make mistakes.

Why should I have to see my team lose?

Everything’s a disgrace, losing’s a disgrace, players not trying are a disgrace, the referees and officials are a disgrace, the stewards are a disgrace, the “attitudes” are a disgrace.

The manager’s a disgrace, the pitches are a disgrace, the others fans are a disgrace, the opposition players are a disgrace.

The opposition fans are cheering, they’re a disgrace. The opposition players are celebrating, they’re a disgrace

I’ve paid to get there and I’ve paid to get in. I deserve better.

DO YOU HEAR THAT YOU USELESS BUNCH OF TWATS, I DESERVE BETTER!!! YES ME, I’VE MADE THE EFFORT TO TAKE AN INTEREST IN YOU AND ALL YOU’VE DONE IS LET ME DOWN. DO YOU HEAR ME? YOU. HAVE. LET. ME. DOWN. AND I DESERVE BETTER.”

Stoic acceptance isn’t good enough anymore and quiet internal contemplation isn’t seem enough anymore either, even quiet moaning amongst trusted friends is passé. Moaning has to be aired in the loudest and most attention-grabbing manner possible, you just can’t exist outside the shrill cacophony.

I fear that moaners have taken over.

It’s not possible to have a quiet conversation about football at a bus stop anymore. A moaning get has to grasp the charming little chat and steer it sharply in the direction of his pet theories. You have to hear about how Nev and the boys are personally letting him down, and how shocking the 6-0 defeat at XXX XXX XXXXXX was and how it should never have happened, and how Nev continues to pick his favourites as if it’s the self-evident truth, and how XXX XXX XXXXXX being so many points ahead that it’s embarrassing. He just won’t let more positive views intrude into his well-thought out ideas. (I was other person in the conversation in case you’re wondering)

The moaning get also embraces new technology so you’ll find him comfortable in his twitter profile. Watch him slag off the players that “have let me down” so badly in the Welsh cup final. He won’t care that the players might be angry or upset at losing, he has to have his say because he’s paid all that money and the players have not only let him down, they’ve let him down personally. He’s got to target the moaning personally because this is how proper fans act, especially when they’ve got access to social media and they’re full-time legends with tickets for the first class section of “The Soccer AM Banter Bus” . (I witnessed drunk people acting like this last night on twitter in case you’re wondering)

Behaviour of this nature has made me realise that lost points and cup defeats aren’t the worst things about Bangor City losing matches, the worst thing is inevitable torrent of pet theories and unjustified anger. If the moaning gets had novel, profound or interesting things to say about Bangor City losing football matches then they’d be worth listening to, their anger might even be fun to read, but when you’ve heard ranting once you’ve heard it a hundred times before.

What do fans, especially fans of semi-pro clubs, think they’re going to achieve by using social media to attack players, or tell them that they’re crap? Semi-pro clubs rely on creating the sense that everyone’s in it together, all slagging people off will achieve is splitting the group into “us” and “them”.

Will the moaning be worth it if from now on players ignore us at the end of matches, or stick two fingers up, instead of cheering us? Will the letting the world know about your hurt feelings be worth it if those players decide to leave because they can’t be arsed dealing with drunken idiots? Or won’t issues like this matter because you’re entitled to your air your deeply hurt feelings, especially as you paid to get there and paid to get in.

Nobody wants to see their teams lose but losing is an inevitable fact of football. Why don’t people get this? It’s a pitiful situation when people reach adulthood and react to defeats like an eight year old.

I hate football.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

