One of those special Saturdays

24 12 2012
Bala Town P Bangor City P
Welsh Premier League
 
Llandudno P Cefn Druids P
Cymru Alliance
 
Colwyn Bay P FC ‘alifax comedians P
Conference North
 
FC Tudno P Llandudno P
Vale of Clwyd & Conwy League Division One
22/12/12

I found out that the Bangor match was off roughly 30 seconds after I entered the suburbs of Bangor. Fortunately I had a kit to deliver so it wasn’t  a wasted trip. I phoned Eric to see if there were any other matches I could go and watch. Eric told me that Colwyn Bay and Llandudno were playing at home.

I saw Jamie and Will on the station platform. Thanks to Jamie’s mobile I was soon aware that both matches were off. Thank god Colwyn Bay was off; I was saved from deciding not to pay 11 quid to watch rubbish.

There was always Karl’s match. Karl is one of my 6-a-side teammates. I walked past the pitch on Llandudno’s Oval two hours before kick off and there was a miniscule lake in the middle of one of the penalty areas. I should have known not to get my hopes up, I already knew that Llandudno’s pitch was waterlogged and Llandudno’s golf courses were about to host the new sport of “Aqua Golf”.

This was one of those weird football-free Saturdays. Not even the prospect of watching West Ham v Everton in a pub couldn’t make up for that. I managed to sit through 10 minutes of the cherished product from “The Greatest League in the World“™ before boredom forced me to vacate the pub. Thankfully the evening’s “Bangor City Christmas party” was a roaring success.

One of those special Saturdays………

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

