I’ve discovered a new pastime!!!

27 07 2012

On Tuesday my train pulled out of Lancaster station and I glanced out of the window. I saw Lancaster City’s ground!!! That glimpse of verdant pitch and concrete terrace forced me to confront the idea I had discover a new pastime; “Groundspotting from the windows of moving trains”. Now I have discovered it I have decided to tell the world about this magical new pastime, hopefully a new subculture will begin!!

The rules are simple, if you see any part of a football ground, no matter how small that part may be, from the windows of a moving train you can add that ground to your list. Mind you before you start this new pastime be warned!! In my time I’ve already collected quite a few football grounds from the windows of moving trains.

So far I’ve seen;

Aston Villa,
Bangor City,
Birmingham City,
Cardiff City (Ninian Park and Cardiff City Stadium),
Cefn Druids,
Celtic,
Clermont Foot,
Conwy Borough,
Charlton Athletic,
Chester FC,
Crewe Alexandra,
Derby County,
Flint Town United,
Helsinki Olympic Stadium,
Heysel Stadium,
Huddersfield Town,
Inter Cardiff,
Lancaster City,
Lansdowne Road,
Leeds United,
Llandudno Town,
Llanfairfechan Town,
Llanrwst United,
Manchester City,
Manchester United,
Millenium Stadium,
Motherwell,
Neath Athletic,
Parc-Y-Scarlets,
Penmaenmawr Phoenix,
Pollok FC,
Preston North End,
Shrewsbury Town (Gay Meadow and New Meadow)
Stade de France,
Stalybridge Celtic,
Swansea City,
Watford,
Wembley,
Wigan Athletic,
Wolves,
Wrexham

Happy Groundspotting from the windows of moving trains!!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

