Poetry Corner

6 06 2011
With a nod to H.M.H.B. and knowing wink toward M.N. I present this;
 
 

At first they came for the people queuing up for the latest Manchester United shirt

but I wasn’t in the queue for the new Manchester United shirt so I did nothing.

 

Then they came for ITV but I didn’t work for ITV,

I told them where Townsend was hiding.

 

Then they came for the opinionated radio commentators

but I detest opinionated radio commentators so I did nothing.

 

Then they came for the people who only remember they have local club before a big match

but I know where my local ground is so I did nothing.

 

Then they came for the fans that welcome oligarchs like saviours whilst wearing the oligarch’s national costume   

but these people are morons so I did nothing.

 

 

Then they came for the fans that go to a pub to watch Sky Sport News on a Saturday afternoon,

I can’t stand Sky Sport News so I did nothing.

 

Then they came for the badge-kissers

but I wasn’t a badge-kissers so I did nothing.

 

Then they came for the sneering Cockney touts

but I can’t sneer so I provided the authorities with a full description

 anonymously of course.

 

Then they came for the advertising execs helping companies to bring football to us,

I held the door open for them.

 

Then they came for the fans that wave when they notice themselves on the big screen  

but I remain aloof so I did nothing.

 
 
 

Then they came for the people who pepper their conversation with “QWA-LI-EEE”, “Different Class” and “Barça!!!”

but I don’t speak like a twat so I did nothing.

 

Then they came for the fans that you know didn’t like football 10 years ago but have a contact for premier league tickets

but they are beneath my contempt so I cheered.

 

Then they came for the women in pubs that scream when England are about to concede a goal,

I just covered my ears and did nothing.

 
 

Then they came for the people who boo at half time

but I don’t boo at half time so I pointed them out.

 
 

Then they came for the people who spend £40 on a match ticket and still leave with 10 minutes left,

I felt vindicated.

 

Then they came for the fans with outstretched arms

I cheered again.

 

Then they came for the people who use Soccer AM as a guide to life

but these people are obviously morons so they deserved to go.

 
 

Then they came for the people who taunt the opposition fans even though they weren’t singing in the first place

but I have a soul so I did nothing.

 
 

Then they came for the loudmouths for which everything  is ”Only Banter!!!”

but I think about what I say so I did nothing.

 
 

Then they came for the preening six-a-side showboaters,

I told them where to look.

 
 

Then, when they’d all gone,

 the world was at peace.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

