A contour here, a glimpse there

11 04 2011
Bangor City 1 GAP Connah’s Quay 0
Welsh Cup Semi Final
9/4/11

Some days are memorable, some days are forgettable but in both cases you’d actually need to remember something happening, there’s there’s no magic equation, there’s no special formula, it’s just a matter of remembering. Considering that this match was a Welsh Cup semi-final it should have been memorable, unfortunately I can only provide the merest whiff of events.

I remember that the blue masses arrived in Rhyl en masse because I was in the middle of them. I remember that we all arrived at 10 o’clock because I saw the clock in the station. I know that we all proceeded towards a bar Julian had suggested because I remember that thinking “My my, drinking at 10am on a Saturday, this is odd”.

If you were looking for clues as to why my Saturday recollections remain detail-free then our morning in the pub is probably a good starting point.

I remember the outline of conversations but that’s about as far as I can go. I remember that the sun was relentless on the way to the ground, and remained so throughout the first half.  I have a vague idea that Bangor had more possession and a couple of good shots in the first half. The second half seemed a bit more colourful and I definitely remember some shots. I also remember Connah’s Quay attacking more. Chris Jones scored the winner with a fantastic shot but I didn’t realise how late in the match it was.  Anyway, I knew that Bangor were through to another Welsh Cup final.

After the match I remember the atmosphere was rather jovial, it wasn’t even spoilt by a Rhyl fan chanting at us. I’d assume it was a good day all in all.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

