Today’s the Day!

21 06 2010

9.00 AM

Today’s the day we find out where we’re going in Europe, will it finally be Vienna finally? Even Bruges would do, Denmark? Motherwell? Here is the final list of clubs we could draw, and as we suspected the list had changed.

  • Ukraine  – Karpaty Lviv
  • Netherlands  – FC Utrecht
  • Romania  – Dinamo Bucharest
  • Portugal  – Maritimo
  • Turkey  – Besiktas
  • Greece  – Olympicos
  • Scotland  – Motherwell
  • Belgium  – Cercle Brugge
  • Switzerland  – Lausanne-Sport
  • Denmark  – Brondby
  • Bulgaria  – Levski Sofia
  • Czech Republic  – Banik Ostrava
  • Norway  – Molde
  • Norway  – Stabæk
  • Austria  – Rapid Vienna
  • Austria  – Austria Vienna
  • Serbia  – OFK Belgrade
  • Serbia  – Spartak Zlatibor Voda
  • Israel  – Hapoel Tel Aviv
  • Cyprus  – APOEL
  • Sweden  – IF Elfsborg
  • Slovakia  – Dukla Banská Bystrica
  • Poland  – Wisla Krakow
  • Croatia  – HNK Cibalia
  • Finland  – Honka  
  • Slovenia  – Maribor
  • Latvia  – Ventspils
  • Belarus  – Dynamo Minsk 
  • Republic of Ireland  – Shamrock Rovers
  • Moldova  – Iskra-Stal
  • Hungary  – Videoton
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina  – Borac Banja Luka
  • Republic of Ireland  – Sporting Fingal
  • Georgia (country)  – WIT Georgia
  • Azerbaijan  – Baku
  • Liechtenstein  – Vaduz
  • 1.00 PM

    Let UEFA explain who we can draw;

    “The road to the UEFA Europa League final begins as 52 teams, including the Fair Play winners, enter the draw for the first qualifying round.

    Half are seeded in accordance with UEFA coefficients and equal numbers of seeded and unseeded teams are then allocated to five groups for the draw – four of ten teams and one of 12.

    For each group, balls containing seeded teams will be placed in one bowl and unseeded teams in another. A ball from each bowl will be placed in a large empty bowl in the middle, where they will be shuffled. The first teams drawn will play the first match at home.

    If any club in the first qualifying round has an individual coefficient which entitles them to be seeded in the next round, the winner of the first qualifying round match involving that club is automatically seeded for the second qualifying round draw.

    The 26 winners will earn a place alongside 54 new arrivals in the next stage of the competition. The 80 teams involved in the second qualifying round are divided into eight groups of ten, with each containing five seeded and five unseeded teams, for the draw, which will follow the same procedure as the first qualifying round.

    Clubs from the same association cannot be drawn against each other in either round.”

    Or, in other words we can only draw the following clubs;

    • Winner of game 8 in 1st qualifying round –   Andorra FC Lusitans or  Republic of Macedonia Fc Rabbotnici
    • Finland  – Honka
    • Winner of game 25 in 1st qualifying round – Either  Slovakia Nitra or Hungary Gyor
    • Bulgaria  – Levski Sofia
    • Czech Republic  – Banik Ostrava

    In the end we drew

    • Finland  – Honka

    It’s the same as last year, and like last year the Jet Set won’t be going. Curse you Platini, where was Vienna? Or Bruges? Or Denmark?

    4.00 PM

    Disappointed rather than pissed off

    6.00 PM

    Travelling Home

    9.00 PM

    Watching Spain v Honduras, feeling slightly better than last year.




    Leave a Reply

    Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


    Connecting to %s

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: